Lifestyle, Uncategorized

What Matters Most to Us.

Before I get started, I wanted to let y’all know a little about the publishing schedule I will be creating for this blog.  My plan is to post at the very least, every Sunday.  These will be topics I work on all throughout the week to bring you great content to read and be inspired.  However, I’m happy to say that when life allows, I will be publishing here and there throughout the week, as well.  So, keep an eye out for my Sunday posts and little random things that may pop up between Sundays! 

    Thanks,

Elizabeth Ashley, xoxo

 

IMG_9666

Life is a journey, sometimes it’s exactly what we wanted.  Other times, it’s not at all what we even imagined.  That’s currently where my life is at.  In some aspects of my life, things are pretty damn close to what I wished for.  I’m attending a great cosmetology school, I’m getting to build up my blog, and I’m enjoying my coffee.  On the other hand, things couldn’t be further from where I’d like to be.  I don’t have my own home, I don’t have a billion dogs and cats, and I’m back in Arizona.  It can be difficult to enjoy the small things in life when you’re so consumed with what’s not how you imagined.  I don’t want to be living in this feeling of confusion, sadness, and frustration.  I want to be able to enjoy the time that’s given to me, no matter where I am at.

One night, while I was endlessly complaining about having to be in Arizona, my best friend told me to stop.  Thank God she said that, I was beginning to even annoy myself.  But, not only did she say that, she said the next few words that would hang over my head and pick me up every time I was feeling down.  “Just think of it as your self-bettering vacation.”  In other words, you’re in Arizona now, deal with it.  While you’re dealing with it, remember that it’s not forever.  I’m a free spirit, when I feel trapped in a place, I panic.  Arizona makes me feel trapped. I dream of getting on the I-40 and driving the hell out of here everyday.  While I lived out in Tennessee I dreamed of just hopping on the I-40 and driving West, maybe, once.  I was on my way into a college town, driving underneath the over-pass and for a split second thought, it could all be gone in a moment.  After that thought, I kept driving straight.  Why?  Because I believed in my future in Tennessee.

IMG_9536.JPG
Here’s a photo of me during my, trying to be a hippie phase.  Okay, I still try to be a hippie.

Eventually, I ended up getting on the I-40 and driving back out west.  I didn’t want to do it, but I knew it was something I needed to do.  I had that same best friend by my side all the way out here.  We had some great times, memories I’ll never forget.  I’m so grateful that she was the one to make that trip with me; her kind heart and loving soul made that journey possible.  She made sure that I knew at any moment I could turn the car around and be back in Tennessee.  Even when we had already crossed state lines into Arizona, she told me we could always turn back around.  Hell, she might have even told me before she got on the plane to go back.  She could see that I did not like this, through the laughter and the excitement of visiting Graceland, she knew Arizona was not my home any longer. Or, maybe I’m just reading into it way too much and she just didn’t want to live thousands of miles away from me.  Either way, I’m thankful for her.

So, what I’m getting at is, what matters most to us should always be there in our hearts.  Whatever it may be that we hold close to us, you know it matters when you can feel it being carried around with you in your heart.  The hardest time to feel what’s important, is when we have it right in front of us.  I had something in front of me that I took for granted, that’s gone and now it’s in my soul as something I will always hold dear.  Right now, it’s the fact I am going to cosmetology school, I’m beginning to take it for granted as well.  Luckily, I’m able to realize now that sometimes, when life has us down, we need to step back and remind ourselves of what matters most.

IMG_9584
Obviously, coffee matters most.

What I’ve noticed matters most to me, personally, are quite a few things.  My faith in God and relationship with Him, that’s number one.  I’ve been so thankful to be able to find a great church out here in Arizona.  Another thing would be my family.  I’m not particularly close to my parents anymore, I get along fine with my Dad.  I just don’t have the relationship with them that I’ve always wanted.  So, family to me, looks a little different.  My grandma is probably the most important person in my life.  She’s someone who has loved me and supported me when she saw I needed it.  Then, I have my friends.  My roommate and her family are special to me, and my best friend of 17 freakin’ years is important to me.  Even some friends that were once very close to me, that I no longer talk to, mean the world to me.

A few other things matter most in my life, my career, being able to express myself creatively, traveling, and animals.  Guys, seriously, I talked to my fur babies (two cats) on the phone the other day.  I had to leave them in Tennessee, it’s been months since they heard my voice, they came running and purring into the phone.  It warmed my heart, it was so precious.

I encourage my lovely readers to sit back, relax, and grab a pen and a piece of paper.  Write down what matters most.  Hang it up somewhere you’ll see it!  To make it easier, separate it into two sections, the first being things in general, the obvious ones.  Then, really think about it, what do you have right in front of you that you may take for granted at times?  Your job?  Your friends? Your fur babies?  Just live in the moment, appreciate what you have.  Work towards what you want.

-Elizabeth Ashley.

3 thoughts on “What Matters Most to Us.”

Leave a Reply

