Lifestyle, Uncategorized

When Life has it’s Own Plans.

10314572_10204032984997842_7017904647499645571_n.jpg
I apologize if the quality in this photo is not so great, was taken with my cell phone. 

Before my busy school week abruptly begins again tomorrow morning, 5am, I wanted to share one last weekend post.  Okay, I’ll be honest, I needed a serious study break and for many of you, it’s still a Monday.  However, as soon as I sat down at my table in my favorite coffee shop, I started having ideas come into mind.

The photo above is one that I hold very dear to my heart.  I took this photo in Tennessee, that was the building my ex and I were going to turn into his recording studio.  And yes, that is him.  I’m going to try with all my might to not get too sentimental as I write, as this is intended to be a post looking to the future, and recreating our present lives.

12241749_10206270528175023_9179450860962643988_n.jpg
This was also taken on my phone. 

Sometimes life changes drastically, one moment you’re dreaming of your future.  The next moment, you’re on a plane staring at the Grand Canyon, wondering what will happen next.  These changes don’t happen for just any reason.  They’re not random, they don’t just happen to make you miserable.  Sure, they may seem to come out of the blue, but one day you’ll realize what there is to learn from it.  That is, if you’re willing to learn from it.  I decided to take the drastic change of a break-up and moving across country as a major learning experience.  Yes, it was an uphill battle to get here.  Between the anger, denial, and sadness, it took a while.  But, here I am, willing to share what I have learned.

Through all of this, through the thinking and wondering, I realized my lesson.  Self-care and Self-love.  I stopped caring for myself.  I stopped loving myself.  I had gained weight, I had gotten into a terrible routine, I even began to read so much that I would finish a novel in less than 2 days.  That meant for an entire 8 hours, I laid in bed reading.  I gave up.  Unfortunately, it took me moving back to my home town to realize just how badly I need to save myself.

11238962_10206315823147369_5791468688938597918_o.jpg
Cadillac Ranch, Amarillo, Texas. Also taken on my phone…

For anyone who is going through, or has at one point been through, a tough change like this, it’s easy to forget what will help us most.  Taking care of ourselves!  And guess what, that’s exactly what I needed to work on in the first place!  I realized through all of this, that we can’t be our best selves unless we put ourselves first.  I’m not talking in the selfish, I’m more important way, but in the way that’s healthy.  If we’re not okay on the inside, how do we expect to be able to help others?  How do we expect to be successful in our careers?  Whatever it may be, there comes a point when we need to make time for us.

I have this horrible habit, that I know many other people have, too.  Waking up with 10 minutes to spare before we head out the door to start the day.  This is the biggest thing in my personal life that I want to drastically change.  I’m at school when the sun rises, and home when it’s setting.  Those days, I have absolutely no time to myself.  There’s 10 minutes to take care of myself, and that short time is spent cussing myself out for waking up late and being in a rush.  It’s a terrible cycle!

12244333_10206309342745363_2244437772756595922_o.jpg
Yes, I took a selfie in the mirror ceiling at Graceland. Obviously, taken on my phone. Again.

So, my goal is to wake up an hour and a half earlier.  I’m going to use this time to do my yoga, perfect my make-up, actually do something other than brush my hair and leave.  I’m going to eat breakfast, enjoy a cup of coffee, and read the Bible.  One thing I want to start doing is writing a Gratitude List each morning.

What small step do y’all want to make to help yourself?  Let me know in the comments, if you want!  I encourage all of you to enjoy your time, take everyday one moment at a time.  Take care of yourself, love yourself, so you can love others better.

-Elizabeth Ashley

Leave a Reply

