Lifestyle, Uncategorized

Positive Vibes Only, Please.

IMG_20160120_220622.jpg
Please excuse my wet hair, this was taken right before being a haircut model at school. 

This past week was a great and busy week!  At school, we had the opportunity to watch a demo by two very respected people in the beauty industry.  Well, I didn’t get to watch, I was too busy trying to not look like a crazy person in front of the entire school while one of them cut my hair!  Social anxiety at it’s best in that moment.  But, I enjoyed every second and love my new hair style!

12615171_10206677590191319_8799630030514357704_o
Thank you, for my lovely new hair cut!

Wherever you go, there will be someone who disagrees with you.  And that’s what happened to me at the end of my week.  It was a very frustrating moment for me. With any disagreement, it’s best to walk away, and calm your mind down.  Especially for someone with anxiety.  In the moment, it’s easy to assume that a disagreement is negative, it has all the signs pointing to negativity.  I always try to see the positive in every situation.  Sometimes it’s there, sometimes it’s not.  And that’s all okay.  I will not be getting into details, nor will I name, names.  This is not about what went down, this is not about the others in any disagreeing situation.  With this, I am wanting to inspire thought, inspire positivity, and inspire respect.  Do not place blame on others, but hold yourself to a standard of these three things.  The only thing you can control, is your reaction to whatever may come your way.

When you get into a disagreement with someone, they may be open-minded, willing to listen and learn of another point of view.  Other times, they may be closed off, and set in their thoughts.  And that’s totally up to them.  As frustrating as it may be, don’t blame them.  Worry about what is coming out of your own mouth.  What vibes are you expressing to others?

12489379_10206623236072500_227832342913252220_o
I like my shoes.

The best way to calm yourself down during a disagreement that is not heading for a positive outcome, is to walk away.  I got up, excused myself, and went and smoked a cigarette.  That was the best way for me to calm down.  I don’t encourage smoking, if you don’t do it, don’t ever do it.  After walking away, you’re in a position of being alone with your thoughts.  Text a friend and rant it all out for a moment, calm your mind, and think from their side.  Understand that no matter what, the best thing to do is to walk away without anger, without hate, only peace.

After talking with my roommate’s mom, she pointed out that this occasion was actually a positive one.  After holding onto it until I got home, I realized that she was right.  It wasn’t positive that there was a disagreement, but in the way I handled it and in the way that I got up and walked back in with my head held high.  No longer angry, no longer hurt, just letting it all roll off my shoulder.  I was able to end my day on a halfway decent note.  And I’m thankful for the way I can see the good in the bad.

And lastly, be respectful, guys!  I mean, come on.  It’s 2016, we’re grown adults, let’s act like it!  If someone has a different point of view than you do, don’t tell them they’re wrong.  Unless it’s something that’s factually wrong like, coffee doesn’t make people happy.  What I mean is, there’s different ways at approaching everything.  Just because someone has a different approach than you do, don’t put them down for it.  Don’t laugh and call that idea wrong.  Because, that’s just wrong.  What matters is the outcome, not the way you create.  In an industry where art is your career, your life, and your passion, you have to respect the way others create.  That’s what forms bonds between artists who can then continue to create masterpieces together!

At the end of the day, enjoy who you are, love yourself.  No matter where you are, or what you’re doing in life; be thoughtful, positive, and respectful.  There are too many people who are not, be the reason someone smiles.

-Elizabeth Ashley

Leave a Reply

