Lifestyle, mental health, Uncategorized

I’m not quite sure what I’m going to title this post. I’m torn between something about rediscovering myself and reinventing myself. I don’t want to say rediscover myself, because I’ve always been here. And I don’t want to say that I’m reinventing myself because no matter what, my main goal is to stay 100% true to myself. 


It’s time, however, for things to change. Change drastically. While I’m going to keep the parts of myself I love dearly and wouldn’t be me without, it’s time to let go of the things that have been holding me back. As I post about my recovery week, I will be preparing a post on the “new me.” If that’s what you want to call it. 

I’m going to share the steps I’ll be taking to get rid of the old, and allow the new to take place. I need to change habits I have set, ideas I have in my mind, and ways I express myself. 

I recently let go of a toxic person that I held an unhealthy attachment to. Anyone who has been abused will understand just how hard it is to let go of your abuser. They don’t mean it, they love me, they are just going through a difficult time. We all make the excuses because we don’t know how to live without the abuse. 

Once you finally let go of your abuser, you may feel lighter like I do. Or you may feel totally lost. I feel a little of both. A lot of times when this happens, we resort to abusing ourselves. Which I have done physically and mentally. I don’t want to let myself fall into a routine of outside abuse followed by internal abuse anymore. I’m standing up for myself and making the changes I need to. 


To begin, I’m going to focus on the outward things. I’m going to clean my apartment, get rid of anything that holds an unhealthy value to the past. 

After I clean my apartment of the negative energy, there goes my yoga hippie talk, I’m going to work on the inside of myself. Work on changing my inner dialogue to something more positive, work on letting go of the past and embracing what is now. I’m going to review and set goals. I’ll share all of these steps, the internal work as well as the outward work on here in the coming days. 

I hope this helps and inspires you to also move forward. 

-Liz

Leave a Reply

