Uncategorized

A Letter to My Three Tennessee Favorites

In continuing my letters to people who matter series, here’s a letter meant for 3. 


Dear Tennessee (Kayla), 

First of all, let me say for the 1,000th time just how much I miss you!! You became such an important person to me so quickly. And I’m beyond thankful that you helped me survive some of the darkest days of my life. 

I want to be more like you. More caring, more sweet, more humble. You are perfectly content with a Walmart Adventure being a date with your husband. You didn’t care about what your wedding dress looked like, you simply just wanted to marry the man of your dreams. You’re honest, you’re beautiful. 

You were there for me as my world fell apart. You’ve seen me at my happiest, something only you have gotten to experience. You are brace enough to live your life. You left your babies and new husband in Tennessee so that you could experience life! Sure, it was difficult, but you did it! And that is something I’m not even sure I could do. 

Continue being strong, brave, and beautiful. Keep loving and keep living your life. Enjoy all the little happy moments you get to have. You’re incredibly blessed with a wonderful family and a wonderful town, remain grateful. Also, come see me, like, now. 


Dear Best Friend (Austin), 

Our friendship means everything to me! Seriously! I’ll never forget having to have Kent set us up. Our first time hanging out, we talked about life and everything. We held nothing back. We got slog from the start. 

Every time I go into a Walmart, I get kinda sad because you’re not with me to buy a bunch of random crap! I miss having you around. I miss the late nights drinking and the fact that going to your house meant no cell phone service. I was cut off from the world. 

Thank you for being there for me the night things fell apart. Thank you for going on a Walmart adventure that night and for being willing to get drunk with me, although I didn’t. Thanks for letting me crash on your couch on a night when I needed true friends. 

And thank you for letting me stay with y’all when I came to visit, and loving my sweet little fur baby! I can’t wait until we get to hang out again because you’re seriously one of my best friends I’ve ever met. 


Dear Tennessee (Alyssa), 

We need more selfies with Jesus in our lives, girl! I miss you and I’m so glad we can FaceTime now! 

Thank you for being the one friend that just chilled with me like my friends did back home. You made me feel like Tennessee could be home, too. We drove around for hours in a circle and had a freakin blast! 

You didn’t judge me when I’d get overwhelmed at work, you were one of my first friends in Tennessee. And I’m so thankful to have met you! I’ll never forget our times sitting outside dollar general drinking tea and coffee, smoking our cigarettes. The good old days!

You also helped me get through one of the toughest times in my life. It was amazing to me that I could just call you up and be like, “hey, I need you to come with me somewhere.” You dropped everything to be there for me, not many people do that. You’ve got my back in case shit goes down. Yet, you’re there next to me when the time comes to throw candy at Chuckie on his wedding night! I was so worried I was going to get fired over that! 

I’m so proud of you for where you’ve gone in your career! Keep moving forward! You’re a wonderful mom and a great friend. And you also need to come out to Arizona to see me. 


All of you,

Just get in a damn van and road trip it out here to see me already! Thank you all for all you’ve done and the wonderful memories we’ve made! Everything that happened in Tennessee was worth it because I met some pretty amazing people. Thank you. You all helped me through the hardest days of my life. Y’all mean the world to me!

Love, 

Arizona (Liz)

Leave a Reply

