Uncategorized

What I Don’t Understand 


This morning, on my way to drop off my boyfriend at work, we got into a car accident. It was simply a matter of bad timing, and exhausted drivers. Instantly, I want to take the blame. But, I know I wasn’t at fault. That’s the thing with abuse, suddenly everything is your fault. 

Anyway, what I don’t understand is why people would get so mad about this happening. Sure, it’s an inconvenience, but look at the positives. My mind instantly goes, “I’m okay.” Then, I found out my boyfriend was okay. Then, I found out my car was not okay. My poor, sweet, captain America. Yes, that’s my car’s name. 

I’m lucky that no one was hurt. So, how can I possibly be upset that someone accidentally hit the back end of my car? I almost drove right into another car just last night, I get it. No one is perfect. It’s just a car, it’s just a piece of plastic on wheels. I’m not upset about it in the slightest. I’m not anxious, angry, or stressed. 

Why do people get so mad about these things?


I’m alive, my boyfriend is alive. I get to drive a rental car now! It’s the little things in life like, being able to come home to my sweet little fur baby. Like being able to drink a cup of coffee and finish waking up before I do much else. Yeah, I’m not excited to deal with an insurance company, but it’s not the worst thing that’s happened to me. 

So, what I’m trying to say is, don’t let the little negatives outweigh the little positives. Keep focusing on the good. Enjoy your life. Let the bad just fall to the side. Smile.

-Liz

Leave a Reply

