Holidays, Lifestyle, mental health, Uncategorized

And So It Begins


Well, Christmas is over, Thanksgiving has long passed, and there’s still a pile of Halloween makeup in everyone’s bathroom. Oh, wait, that’s just me? Oops. 

The Christmas trees are still up and the wrapping present is still covering the house. Oh, again just me? Okay, anyway!

It’s about time for reflecting on the past year and setting goals to make changes for the coming year. I mean, come on everyone 2016 was just shit. Let’s all make an effort to make 2017 a badass year. Or, at least laugh at Donald Trump memes. Seriously, so excited for those!


Currently, I’ve started my New Year’s Resolution list. I’m adding to it as time passes. I do want to share it with my lovely readers, but I want to make sure it’s mostly completed first. So, you can keep an eye out for that post! 

One thing I wanted to share with you is my newest addition to my list. I literally added it as I was writing this, but thought of it just minutes before I began to write. 


After we got back from the grocery store, I had forgotten my purse in the car. While I was walking out to get it, by myself, I realized something. I felt differently than when I walk with my boyfriend. Why was that? I don’t want to feel better about myself when I’m with him and then feel less about myself when we’re apart. That’s sure as hell not healthy. 

That’s when I realized, I was walking with my head down. Staring at my feet as they walked down the sidewalk. Careful, to not step on any cracks. You know, don’t want my mother’s back broken and all that! Then, I realized that while walking with my head down, I add anxiety to my day. Why? Because it takes away my view of what’s around me and makes me solely focused on the few steps ahead. 

So, my newest addition to my New Year’s Resolutions is to walk with more confidence. Or, you know, watch where the hell im going. I tried this while going out to my car, consciously reminding myself to hold my head high.

 It helped! I instantly felt more in control, which meant less anxious feelings. I was alone and completely in control, nothing could stop me. Walking back, I caught myself looking down again. But, told myself to keep my head held high and continued to do so. 

It’s a small goal, something easy and simple. Yet, it can make a world of a difference. Try it. If it’s difficult for you to do so, then I have an idea or like, a challenge for you. 

Walk into your closet, or open your dresser drawer. Whatever it may be, find your outfit you feel most confident in. It could be sweat pants and a tshirt, or a super nice dress. Maybe even a suit. If you don’t know what it is, try and dress up. Add all the accessories, do your makeup and hair, shave that beard. I’m talking to both guys and girls, here. Although, if you’re a woman with a beard, rock whatever makes you smile. 

Once you’ve found that outfit, I know wearing heels helps me, go outside. If you need your safe person, grab them and go do something. I challenge you to go and get some coffee. Or, if you’re not human, go and get a smoothie or one of those $7 juices. You don’t have to stay there, but get out and get something you enjoy. Maybe even ice cream. If someone asks why you’re wearing a damn tuxedo, tell them you’ve got an important event you’re headed to. Which isn’t a lie, because when you get home, you’ll feel important and that in and of itself is an important event. 

Take care, my lovelies. I hope everyone has enjoyed their holidays. Let’s start working on making 2017 a great year!

-Liz

Leave a Reply

