Lifestyle, Uncategorized

How I’m Starting My New Year


This New Year, I was both anxious and excited about making resolutions. I knew in my heart this would be a perfect time to start over again, to start making some changes. But, it brought me so much anxiety. Until, one day I said “fuck it” and I got off my ass and did one thing on my list. Ever since then, things have started falling into place. 

I didn’t want to overwhelm myself with resolutions. And, I’m going into this knowing that I don’t have to do them all at once. It’s not about how quickly you can start, but that you accomplish it within the year. So, I wanted to share my resolutions with you. 

  • Get a medical marijuana card
  • Grow closer in my relationship to God
  • Have a healthy relationship with my boyfriend
  • Do yoga daily 
  • Get a job
  • Look put together
  • More road trips
  • Take more photos
  • Earn money blogging, in a respectful way
  • No drinking
  • Save money
  • Walk with confidence 


This past week, I’ve decided to start the New Year out easy and simple.  I rang in the new year with kisses from my boyfriend while cuddled up on the couch. I want this year to be as chill and relaxed as that. Honestly, I haven’t done a whole lot other than chill with my dog and spend time with my man. Which is perfectly okay with me. 

I did make sure to go to see my psychiatrist and make sure my mental health is being taken care of. I got some medication figured out and everything. While I’m starting out the year with a bit of money trouble, I’m still hanging in there. I’ve had some anxiety attacks this week, but nothing I can’t handle. 


The most important thing I’ve done so far this year is pick up yoga again. It’s helped me get started on everything else. It’s like the best antidepressant I could have asked for. I can’t tell you how much it’s helped. Before, I was anxious and restless all the time with my mind going a mile a minute. But, that changed after just 2 days of yoga. Today will be day 4 and I’m so excited and grateful. Yoga is a workout for your mind and your body. It helps so much. 

This year, I’m taking things a day at a time. Planning a little more, and enjoying life a bit more as well. I’m excited to continue on this journey to mental health recovery and I hope to continue inspiring others. 

Have a happy new year! Even though, it’s been like a week already and we’re all tired of people saying that to us by now.

-Liz

2 thoughts on “How I’m Starting My New Year”

  1. You got this girl! I love your goals for the new year. I began practicing yoga about 4 years ago and it brought me out of deep grief and has helped me manage my anxiety immensely! Wishing you all the very best!

    Like

Leave a Reply

