Uncategorized

What I Was Lacking


For the last year or so, there has been something missing in my life. That something is, purpose. For a good part of the year, I had absolutely no purpose. I was wandering about aimlessly just trying to make sure it looked like I had my shit together. It wasn’t until I fell apart and broke down that I discovered my purpose. 

While trying to figure out how to properly word this post, I came to a conclusion. We have more than one purpose in life. While I knew my purpose was to inspire and be happy, there was still part of it missing. I still wasn’t fully drawn to my purpose. That is, until realizing that last piece today. I don’t know if the best way to say it is family or love. Because, I had love in my life, just not romantically so, I guess I have to go with family. My own family. 

My purposes are, inspiring, happiness, and family. 


It wasn’t until this man came along that I got to start fulfilling my family purpose. Now, don’t get all crazy on me here. There is no technical “family.” The only thing we’re expecting is to have coffee in the morning! But still, it’s starting to feel like family. His sisters are two of my closest friends. And him and I have grown incredibly close in the time we’ve spent together. 

Having him in my life has given me the last bit of purpose I needed. That last little thing to work towards. I’ve got a reason to wake up in the morning, I have to take him to work. I have a reason to clean the house, I don’t want him uncomfortable. I have a reason to do yoga, I want to be the best version of me I can be. I have a reason to eat dinner, because he eats so much he needs two dinners. 


Don’t take this the wrong way. I’ve learned my lesson on making a man your sole purpose. He’s not my only purpose in this life. But I can’t lie and say that he hasn’t contributed to my meaning in life. Because, what is life if you have no one to share it with? 

-Liz

Leave a Reply

