mental health, Uncategorized

A New Doctor


Today is the day. Today, I’m going to a new psychiatrist. After months of family begging me to see someone new, I’m finally taking the step to go. As with all psychiatrist appointments, I don’t know exactly what to expect. And that scares me. 

The first psy. doctor I saw treated it as more of a therapy session. This was when I was about 11. My current, or I guess now former, doctor was more like a legal drug dealer. Get my new prescriptions and leave. I hope this one is more along the lines of a therapy session, that way she can truly get to know me. 

I’m already dreading the long list of things she needs to know about. My previous addictions, my previous abuse, and all my mental health problems. I guess, at least now I can probably get the correct diagnosis for Bipolar Disorder. I had to fill out forms online and I recognized the Bipolar test. I was never given this at my last doctor. And she didn’t even tell me when she started treating me as someone with Bipolar type ll. 

I have high hopes for today. I want this appointment to go well and be more centered around what’s going on. 

Here’s what I want to change:

  • Antidepressants. My Prozac doesn’t feel like it has any effect. 
  • Antipsychotics. I have felt no change in this. 
  • Stimulates. They are controlling my life and dangerously effecting my moods. 

I want to keep you all updated on my progress and new journey I’m embarking on. Hopefully, I can give some insight into how things go when you’re trying to find the right medication. 

-Liz

4 thoughts on “A New Doctor”

Leave a Reply

