Uncategorized

It’s In The Little Things


It’s the little things that let you know you’re going to be okay. It’s the feeling of joy even after having a difficult day. 

This morning started out with my big fur baby having a big accident on the bedroom carpet. Then, I just felt like shit because of it. I lost all motivation. I was so hard on myself, angry with myself for feeling this way. 

I learned something today, though. You’ve got to accept that when you’re depressed, you can’t do everything you want to, and it’s OKAY. Its totally normal and acceptable. Set small goals for yourself like getting out of bed, showering, brushing your teeth, and making coffee (or tea). If you accomplish those, you’re living. You’re surviving this darkness. 

After I accepted the fact that it’s okay I didn’t do much, that’s when I felt a weight lift off of me and I was able to do things. I didn’t expect this, I expected to go lay down on the sofa and nap! But, no. Instead, I was able to do dishes and even set up my printer so I can print my photos. It made me so happy that I finally did some things. I can’t tell you the joy I felt after a week of being told I can’t do shit by some voice other than my own. 


I don’t know what tomorrow holds. I don’t know if I’ll be the same, better, or worse. But I’ll be alive and that’s all I can ask for. Another day of air in my lungs and my heart beating. 

-Liz

Leave a Reply

