Uncategorized

This Is What We Call Bullshit


As many of you know, I went to the hospital this morning to get help with my depression. This is not what happened. 

Apparently, my depression is not bad enough to be helped. What kind of bullshit is this? 

It’s been hell living in my mind this past week, but because I don’t want to kill myself I’m not able to get help until my psychiatrist comes back from her vacation. 

I was told to come back if I start feeling suicidal. What about before that? What about the people who don’t want to wait around until they feel like ending it all? We should be helping prevent the feeling of suicidal thoughts, not waiting until they come around. 

-Liz

7 thoughts on “This Is What We Call Bullshit”

  1. I know this feeling very well. The current society doesn’t seem to care if you feel awful and disabled by your mental illness. They just don’t want you dying because then it would look bad. I remember when I was living in the US I had to sign a contract saying I wouldn’t kill myself ON CAMPUS. I am sorry that you are not getting the care you need, I really hope something changes.

    Like

  2. That’s not what an ER is for. No, your depression isn’t bad enough to warrant an ER visit if a) you’re already seeing a doctor and b) it’s not an Emergency.. (that’s what the E in ER stands for)

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry to hear this 😦 it is bullshit for sure! I fell into that category last year myself. It was disheartening and scary. Do hang in there lovely! I’m sending healing and good vibes your way. *hugs*. I’m always here if you need someone to talk to.

    Like

Leave a Reply

