How To, Lifestyle

Realistic Ways To Start Your Day (Other Than Working Out)

Lately I’ve been reading different lifestyle blogs and self-improvement blogs and I’ve seen a lot of things like, “What successful people do in the mornings.” Honestly, I haven’t read them because I know what they’ll say. Get up earlier, drink water with lemon, work out, blah blah blah. 

But let’s cut the bullshit here. No matter how much lemon water you drink in the morning, it’s still the morning. So, if you’re trying to start your days off on a better foot, here are my ideas for better mornings. 

1. Get Up On The Right Side Of The Bed

Start your day with a positive mantra. Something you tell yourself first thing in the morning other than, “ugh, I have to do *insert annoying thing here.*” Make it something simple, something that really gets you motivated, and make sure it’s positive! 

For me, this morning my mantra was, “Awh, he made me coffee. Now, wake up and drink the damn coffee.” My mornings usually start out slightly lazy. If I have it my way, I wake up energized and instantly go make coffee. But that usually only happens on the weekends. During the week, my boyfriend is up before I am and I usually lay in bed while he takes the dogs on a walk. This morning, I remember waking up and him telling me he was going on a walk, then I fell back asleep for a while. 

Some good mantras would be, 

  • Keep things extremely simple
  • I’m beautiful 
  • Today is my day
  • Have an open mind and open heart

2. Don’t Hit Snooze

Yeah, you caught me. This morning I technically hit snooze instead of getting up when my boyfriend woke me up. Some days I wake up to his alarm, others it’s not that easy. 

But just don’t do it, get up right when you intend to. It’ll make you feel accomplished first thing in the morning, and that’s a great feeling. A little tip: set a second alarm for 5 minutes after that first one just in case you fall back asleep. Also, have your alarm clock far away enough that you at least have to walk to the end of the bed to turn it off. 

3. Relax With Some Coffee

Or tea, if that’s your thing. But take some time to relax first thing in the morning, give your brain a chance to catch up and wake up. 

  • Spend time with your significant other

Set aside some time with your partner to enjoy that morning coffee together. Steven and I usually drink some coffee and scroll through social media showing each other cool shit. This morning we had a competition to see who could find the cutest dog. Also, he tried to convince me we need another dog. 

  • Spend time alone

Even if you have to wake up first, spend time alone. Or, if you live alone then, yay, wake up whenever the fuck you want (or need to).  This was one thing I always thought was awesome about my dad. He would always wake up to have enough time to read the Bible before going to work. And with me and my mom under the same roof, that alone time was necessary for his survival. 

  • Spend time reading 

Set some time to read while drinking coffee. I probably won’t do this, if I lived alone I might. Alright, who am I kidding. The first two hours of me being awake my mind can only process memes on Facebook. But, in a perfect world, reading sounds nice. 

4. Watch The Sunrise

This will forever and always be on my lists of things to do. I’ve mentioned it before, and will keep mentioning it. There’s just something about the sunrise that is so peaceful and beautiful. Enjoy it. Do it every day, or at least once a week. I usually catch the sunrise on my way to dropping Steven off at work. But, sometimes on the weekends I accidentally wake up with enough time to catch the sunrise. I didn’t used to be a morning person, but having to wake up at 5am every day has made me one. Ah, the things we do for love. 

5. Turn On The News

Logically, this is probably a shitty way of starting your day because, I mean, hello, the news is horrible! But, there’s something about learning gardening tips on your local news station at 6 in the morning that’s oddly satisfying. Also, you’ll feel more knowledgeable (did I spell that right?) watching the news and learning what’s going on in the world. That is, until you hear Trump speak and then your IQ drops 10 points. 

6. Fill Out Your Mental Health Journal

If you started a bullet journal or mental health journal, spend some time in the mornings checking in on yourself. It’ll help you feel more connected throughout the day. 

7. Journal Your Hopes For The Day

You can’t really journal about your day first thing in the morning, but writing out your hopes or goals for the day may be nice. A little reminder of what you want out of the day in order to feel accomplished. 

8. Plan Your Day

I haven’t done this in a while, but it’s one of my favorite things to do. I love writing to do lists and making plans for the day. Helps you stay on track and know what to expect so you have a little fewer surprises. And that helps with anxiety. But, don’t over do the planning, because that can bring anxiety as well. Try sticking with the three most important things to do that day, then add on any other little things you need to accomplish. 

9. Check Inspiring Social Media

This one is more my style, it’s a lot simpler than reading a book. Find an app that has motivational quotes, or follow interesting things on StumbleUpon, or even follow some inspiring people on instagram. Get your day started on the right foot by being inspired first thing in the morning! Or, you know, looking at cat photos. 

10. Get On Pacifica

This is something I need to start doing more often. Pacifica is an anxiety and depression app. Mostly, anyway, a lot of the other users have different mental health issues. I love this app because they created a hope Board to keep track of your hopes and there’s a place to combat negative thinking. You can set goals, post to a community, and track your habits. And no, this is not sponsored. I have no sponsors. Anyone wanna sponsor me?! Kidding (but, seriously). 

11. Eat A Good Breakfast 

If you can, try and have a big breakfast in the morning and a small dinner at night. But, realistically, only a 1950’s housewife (or moms on TV) will have pancakes and French toast and fruit and shit out for breakfast. Eat something healthy, fruit, yogurt, a bagel, whatever. 

12. Write Down 10 Things

This is something I swear by, and used to do all the time. I’ve gotten lazy. But, starting your day out listing 10 things you’re grateful for is an amazing way to get in a good mood in the morning. You can also do this at night and make it day specific. 

13. Listen To Music While Getting Ready

This one is pretty self explanatory. Just put on your favorite motivating music and get your ass ready to conquer the day! 

What are your favorite ways to spend the morning? Let me know in the comments!

-Liz

Leave a Reply

