How To, Lifestyle, Uncategorized

Ways You Can Show Yourself Some Love


Recently I wrote a post asking you if you love yourself. In, Do You Absolutely Love Yourself, I mentioned ways you can tell if you’re loving yourself or not. I also included a few tips as to how to start loving yourself. Well, I felt like expanding on that for you all and giving you a few of my ideas on how you can show yourself some love. 

Loving yourself is so important. I mean, you spend 100% of the time with you, so, why not love yourself? It can be such a hard thing to do, a lot of us are very critical of ourselves. But, sometimes I wonder why. Like, if you’re doing the best you can, what else is there to expect from yourself? But, trust me, I’m so incredibly hard on myself. Especially when I’m depressed. So, I need to be listening to my own advice as well. 

My ideas for loving yourself

1. Accept yourself for who you are

Just do it. Just accept yourself. Flaws and all. It’s the flaws that someone else just might love. I didn’t have a great relationship with my ex boyfriend but, one thing that was good was that he admired my fucked up teeth. Something I hate about myself. He liked them because I didn’t care what other people thought of the tooth that never fully came down or what others thought of my crowded mouth. 

Accept your physical beauty, and your inner beauty as well. Accept the passion you have, the things you love, the ways you express yourself. Accept and love yourself for who you truly are, and then be that person. Don’t be someone else. I tried that once, I tried to be someone I wasn’t because I thought she was so adorable and I wanted to be like her. It hurt me in the long run and then I ended up having to rediscover myself. Turns out, I don’t really like old classic movies and I’m not obsessed with Audrey Hepburn. Although, I should be. 

2. Enjoy the time spent with yourself 

For a long time, I hated being by myself. I couldn’t stand to be alone with my thoughts. And sometimes, I still fucking can’t. And that’s okay. But, I’ve come a long way. Today, I was actually kind of excited for my boyfriend to go to work because I now have guilt-free time to myself. Sometimes, I feel guilty for spending all day on the patio alone while he plays video games. But, hey, it’s cool that we can just hang out by ourselves while in the same place. 

3. But don’t isolate yourself 

Sometimes, I like being alone a little too much. And I tend to isolate myself. This has cost me a lot of friendships. Still remain in contact with people, go out and have some fun, get your mind off of things and keep your relationships strong. 

4. Eat Well

Eat those greens, eat that protein. Take care of yourself. As I’ve said before, I totally suck at this. I could sit down and eat a whole pizza to myself, and have before. But, we all need to work on getting in our fruits and veggies. 

5. Still eat that cake though

Just because you’re eating better doesn’t mean you can’t have that slice of cake, or bowl of ice cream, or cookie. Plain and simple, still enjoy life. 

6. Do some yoga

I also totally suck at this. You know, a body at rest stays at rest. Well, it’s super hard for me to get going. But I’ve done yoga daily before and the benefits are so worth it. My go to for yoga is the YouTube channel, Yoga With Adrienne. 

7. Pamper yourself

I mean other than shopping, because shopping can become a bad habit to feeling better. I’m talking stay at home pampering. Or, if you can afford it, go to a spa. My favorite way to pamper myself is to put a badass bath bomb in the tub and give myself a facial while soaking in the warm water. But, pampering yourself can also mean taking a nap. Whatever you feel like doing. 

8. Quit that damn bad habit

I got a lot of bad habits, I’m no stranger to them. And I bet you had at least one pop into your head as soon as you read that. Quit it. Mine would be to quit chain smoking. Especially while writing. To be honest, I don’t think it’s possible to quit fully anytime soon. But, I do have a plan for the future. When we move into our new townhouse I’m going to turn the spare bedroom into a half office, half game room (I want to turn it into a giant closet but, no my boyfriend won’t let me do that). But, I’m hoping if I have a pretty enough office, I’ll spend less time outside writing and smoking and more time inside and writing. Also, switching to drinking more tea and less coffee might help. We shall see!

9. Actually do the things you love

Just make time for it! For me, I love to write so I’ve made plenty of time for that. But, I also love painting furniture and things. I need to make more time for that. 

10. Talk kindly to yourself

Simply put, if you wouldn’t say it to your best friend, don’t say it to yourself. 

How do you show yourself some love? Let me know in the comments!

-Liz

Leave a Reply

