Uncategorized

One Goal


I’m going to be real for a moment here. I’m struggling, struggling badly. 

I was in a Depressive Episode not too long ago. Normally, I wake up one day and kick myself in the ass and suddenly it’s gone just as quickly as it came and I’m up and doing things. But, not this time. No, this time my antidepressants are actually working and the depression is gradually lifting. Which, of course, yay! 

I’m not used to this, though. I expect to be on top of the world now that I’m not depressed. That’s not the case this time. This time, it’s like I’m having to reteach myself how to live. 

My body and my mind are not on the same page right now. My mind wants to do things. Write, clean, shop, plan, etc. My body? Well, it wants to sit outside and drink coffee or go crawl into bed. Which I’ve done both of today. 

But, I’m keeping myself going as best I can. How? By setting one goal. One goal for the day, that’s it. That’s all I can do right now because my body still thinks I’m depressed. It’s still in that lazy mode. And that’s okay, but don’t let it drag your mind back into the depression. 

I started on Tuesday with one goal: Make the bed. I did it, and I was exhausted after doing such a simple task. 

On Wednesday my goal was: do the dishes. I did them, and I felt so proud of myself. 

Today, Thursday, my goal was: clean the bathroom. I just finished it. And I’m so happy I did it. I actually feel like I might be able to do more! 

Since it’s only 10am and I feel like I can handle more, I’m going to make my next goal to put the dishes away. Keep it one goal at a time. Accomplish one thing. If you can handle another goal, go for it. If you can’t, that’s perfectly okay. Just breathe. You’ll get it tomorrow. 

-Liz

1 thought on “One Goal”

  1. I know those episodes all too well and just recently could not got out of bed or do the simplest tasks.

    I love the one goal plan and I am going to keep that in the back of my head for the future!

    Hang in there lovely and I hope it passes soon! *Hugs

    Like

Leave a Reply

