Uncategorized

The Truth About My Depression And Past Abuse

Please be kind, as this is a story I’m afraid to share. It’s taken a lot for me to get to this point. I want to mention that I am in no way blaming anyone for my depression, it’s simply the result of how I’ve reacted to others’ actions. 

This may cause some upset, if so, speak directly to me. I will respect you more if you talk to me directly rather than go to someone else first. 

Thank you. 

The Cause

After texting with a friend yesterday, it finally hit me. I know why I’m struggling so badly with depression. It’s a subject easy for me to talk about, because then I can act like it doesn’t bother me much. But, writing about it, I can’t hide the pain it’s caused. I feel weak, vulnerable. But, it’s something I need to write about so, here’s my best shot. 
Sitting on my patio, coffee by my side, cigarette in hand, here goes nothing. Or, everything.
For over a decade I have been emotionally abused. For the first time in my life, I’m not being abused by an outside force, only the thoughts that still linger in my mind. It’s odd not having someone else put me down daily, and I find myself craving that again. As odd as it may sound. 
When you break free from abuse, you think you’ll feel lighter, more in control, happier. That’s not always reality. The abuse sticks with you. The words said linger in your mind and continue to drive you crazy. Even if you have an amazing boyfriend that tells you daily how great you are, how pretty you are, and how much he loves you, you still can’t shake this feeling that you’re not good enough. 
For years, these are the phrases I heard from my mother, and then my (now) ex-boyfriend: 
“No wonder you don’t have any friends.”
“You’re crazy.”
“Who would want to marry you?”
“You belong in a mental hospital.”
“You’re acting like a 2 year old.”
“You’re a spoiled little bitch.”
“You deserved to be raped.”
“Why don’t you go back to Arizona and take another plan b pill?” (Referring to my rape.)
“You’re a slut.”
“You’re a drug addict.” (Never have been.)
“You’re selfish and don’t care about a damn thing. You’re lazy.”
Surprisingly, the abuse from both people started because of the same issue. I have (or had) debilitating severe anxiety and panic attacks for over a decade. 
More times than not, the abuse would always begin at the first sign of a panic attack. When my mind is at the level of a little child, when I’m scared of even myself, when I’m rocking back and forth, when I’m hyperventilating, when tears are uncontrollable, when I’m no longer in control of myself. Nothing makes me feel more weak, scared, and vulnerable than when I have a panic attack. And that’s when they chose to strike. 
Sometimes, their abuse brought on a panic attack and it just worsened. There were days I’d find myself sitting on my bedroom floor, back against the door, trying to keep my mother out of my room. There were days I’d drop to the ground in tears, broken by what they had said. There were days laying in the fetal position grasping for air while they yelled at me. I couldn’t escape.
As I got older, the abuse from my mother got worse. Eventually, she’d start getting more physical. I was afraid for my life, at age 21. I couldn’t fight back, she’s my mother. She Has Fibromyalgia and I just couldn’t ever bring myself to call out for help in fear that she’d be locked away, unable to get her medication to stop her pain. I suffered in hopes she wouldn’t have to. 
One day, I found myself bent over the back of the sofa with her hand in my hair. This being just after she threw her metal cane across the room at me. I found my way up, and hid behind my father. Someone who was always in the middle, unable to help me. Unable to help her. 
The worst part of having an emotionally abusive relationship is, no one believes you. They act so kind, so nice to others that it seems like you’re the liar. In high school, my friends thought I was the problem, that my mother only cared. After breaking up with my boyfriend, his parents thought I had beat him, that he was the victim. 
The words they spoke still linger in my mind to this day. The feelings of worthlessness, sadness, pain, and shame are all still alive within me. I don’t know if they’ll ever go away but, God, I hope they do. I hope I overcome this to be happy again. Maybe I need to forgive them still, but I just don’t know how to. 
If you’re in an abusive relationship of any kind, seek help now. Professional help. Please, do it for your future. 

3 thoughts on “The Truth About My Depression And Past Abuse”

  1. What you suffered is horrific and I am so sorry for this.. I was mentally and physically abused by an old boyfriend, who for a brief time became my fiance (crazy right) back when I was 17 oh some, 30 years ago. The things he did to me and said to me stuck with me for some years. Unfortunately I brought my fears into another long term relationship but that one did end in marriage but, there would still be times where if he moved to quickly reflex stepped in and I’d flinch etc. This marriage ended but not for these reasons.. I thought Id finally let go of the abuse I had suffered years before until I met a man who was very good to me. We moved in together and everything was great and then…. one day he just started screaming like a banchie because I asked him to please install a phone… My mind immediately went into fear mode.. Im not 47 and while I have moved far past what had happened to me when younger, and I have never let anyone else ever speak to me or treat me that way again, I know I am SO worth and deserving of being loved like someone should be and I don’t settle for any less, still, when my husband raises his voice too loud, I shrink still which was never my forte until the one who abused me. I don’t shrink as much as I used and I’ll give it right back to him but there are still times.. You will move on from this.. I can’t say you’ll ever forget it, I can’t say you won’t have permanent scars but you will, in time, when you are ready and with help (I hope you’re getting help with this), you will be able to move past and live as you choose.. Sending love XO

    Like

Leave a Reply

