mental health

When Your Energy Leaves


Right now, you could say I’m doing pretty damn good, mentally. I’m not fighting off Depressive thoughts, hell, I’m even writing something! It’s a miracle! But, there’s something else bothering me.

My lack of energy. I don’t know whether I’m solely experiencing the physical drain from depression or if I’m just being fucking lazy. I have no clue which is to blame. And honestly, I’m kind of stuck here. I’ve already binge watched a show and a half of Heartland. I feel like if I get up from my patio chair that that’s exactly what I’ll end up doing again. Deep down, I don’t want to be doing that all day. But on the surface, it just seems so much easier than the alternative. Doing things. Yuck. Who the hell wants to do things? 

I’ve got a long list of things I could be doing. I could be doing a hell of a lot more than sitting outside drinking my coffee. But my body is all like, “I don’t wanna” while my mind is like, “but we gotta.” So, here is some advice from someone who needs the advice she’s about to give others. 

Ways To Get Off Your Ass

1. Just fucking do it

Option 1, do it. Ignore your body, listen to your mind. Or opposite. Ignore the lazy, listen to the awake. For me, I try to take a shower every morning, brush my teeth, wash my face, all that good stuff. It kick starts me to get going most days. But today, I just don’t wanna. So, I can either teach myself some damn self-discipline and get off my ass and shower or, I can continue not wearing a bra and lounging around all day watching Netflix. And then probably feel guilty about it later because I didn’t do shit while my boyfriend worked his ass off all day. 

2. Think About Later

I’m all for the mindfulness, stay in the moment bullshit. It really does work sometimes. But other times, it helps to think of the future. I’m talking about how you’ll feel later today, or after doing that one task you’re dreading. If you lay around watching Netflix all day, how will you feel at the end of the day? As compared to, if you got up and got things done, how would you feel? I know I’d be more excited to show off to my boyfriend everything I accomplished. If I laid around watching Netflix I don’t really get to jump up and down pointing at the kitchen sink saying, “look, I did the dishes!” Saying, “look, I laid in bed all day!” Just isn’t really the same. 

3. Reward Yourself

If the thought of how you’ll feel after just isn’t enough incentive, then come up with a reward system. After I do the dishes, I can have a cup of coffee. After you do the laundry, you can have some ice cream. Or something like one episode on Netflix after, I don’t know, walking the dogs. Just, anything you enjoy AFTER you’ve done what was needed to be done. 

4. A Little At A Time

This one is my favorite, just do it a little bit at a time. For instance, say you have a sink full of dirty dishes as well as a dishwasher full of clean dishes. Break it down into steps. Just empty the bottom rack and take a timed break, then the top and another short break. Keep the breaks 5 or 10 minutes long. Break it down as small as you need to. You might even start to find yourself skipping breaks and getting lost in cleaning. 

5. Try Again

If all else fails, try again tomorrow. It’s totally okay. Couldn’t do the dishes? That’s fine. If you laid in bed all day, that’s okay. It’s nothing to be ashamed of. Just wanting to do the things on your list is a step in the right direction. Be gentle with yourself, keep moving forward. You’ve got this. 

How do you guys start moving when you feel like laying in bed all damn day? What motivates you?

-Liz

Leave a Reply

